Franklin was formed in 1779 from Bute. It was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin. It is in the northeastern section of the State and is bounded by Nash, Wake, Granville, Vance, and Warren counties. The present land area is 492.02 square miles and the 2000 population was47,260. The act establishing the county authorized that the first court be held at the home of Benjamin Seawell. The justices were to determine where subsequent courts were to be held until the courthouse could be erected. In 1779 Lewisburg was established on land purchased by the commissioners for the erection of the courthouse. Louisburg is the county seat.