Bexar County in South Central Texas, with San Antonio as the County Seat, was one of the original counties established on 20 December 1836. During the Mexican period, Texas had been divided into four departments, and following independence, the departments were divided into counties. The Department of Bexar stretched from the Rio Grande to the Panhandle and as far west as El Paso. The old department became the new county, and it wasn't until 1860 that partitioning began. 128 counties have been carved from the original county.

Learn more about Bexar County from the Handbook of Texas Online