Indiana, meaning the "Land of the Indians," is a U.S. state that is part of the Great Lakes region. The area was claimed for New France in the 17th century, handed over to the Kingdom of Great Britain as part of the settlement at the end of the French and Indian War, given to the United States after the American Revolution, soon after which it became part of the Northwest Territory, known as the Illinois County of the Commonwealth of Virginia, then the Indiana Territory, and joined the Union in 1816 as the 19th state.