Located in east central Allen County, Adams township is traversed by the Maumee River, west to east, on its way to Ohio. It was organized January 1826, and reduced to present size in May 1830.

     Adams Township communities include: the city of New Haven, and the communities of Meadowbrook, River Haven and Sunnymede Woods. The City of Fort Wayne includes large portions of the following 4 townships: Adams, St. Joseph, Washington and Wayne.